David Myatt – Time As Emanation of Being

0

David Myatt

David Myatt – Time As Emanation of Being
(pdf)

Contents

0. Preface
1. Time and The Separation of Otherness – Part One

2. Some Notes On The Theory of The Acausal
3. Understanding The Acausal
4. The Star Game – History and Theory

°°°

From the Preface:

{quote}
What I have described as ‘the theory of the acausal’ was first dreamt up by me in 1972 during ‘a holiday at Her Majesty’s pleasure’ to wile away the many hours spent, in Armley jail, sowing mailbags in the then mandatory daylight OCA [Observation, Classification, Allocation] sessions, having spent previous evenings – while ‘banged up’ in a ‘peter’ with two other cons – reading Jung’s Mysterium Coniunctionis and his Psychology and Alchemy.

During those long days – and sometimes longer nights – I gradually refined this theory, postulating an ‘acausal universe’ wherein existed ‘acausal energy’, with living beings as a connexion, a nexion, between our causal phenomenal universe and that acausal universe, and with such acausal energy being what animated ordinary physical matter and thus imparting to such matter the quality we humans observed, and described, as life. On my release from prison in 1973 I wrote the first draft of my Emanations of Urania – Notes Toward A Heuristic Representation of Cliology in which I attempted to describe the theory in an axiomatic way and extend it to explain the metamorphosis of cultures and civilizations as described by Spengler and Toynbee. Despite my intention to revise that first draft, various activities and commitments prevented me from doing so, so it was that typewritten draft which I photocopied and circulated to a few friends the following year just before I left all those various activities and commitments behind to live, for a while, as a ‘Gentleman of the Road’. Now, some forty years later, there is even more of that youthful 1970’s document that I would revise and much I would delete, given how over the decades my apprehension of the acausal has evolved, a newer apprehension evident especially in my fairly recent essay Time and The Separation of Otherness.

It was during another such ‘holiday at Her Majesty’s pleasure’ (1975-1976) – while in another jail and working as the prison library ‘red band’ – that I devised ‘the star game’ in order to try and express, by means of alchemical symbolism, not only the basic acausal theory but also what I then considered were some of its applications (for example, in respect of Jungian individuation).

Perhaps unsurprisingly, a somewhat revised version of this acausal theory was incorporated into my much later ‘numinous way’ (2002-2011) and then into that refinement of that ‘numinous way’ that I have, post-2012, termed my philosophy of pathei-mathos. Indeed, the notion of acausality in central to my philosophy of pathei-mathos, derived as that philosophy is from my own pathei-mathos and thus from the rather late development of my own faculty of empathy. For the faculty of empathy provides us with an intuition – a knowing – concerning such acausality, and which acausal knowing is the foundation – the ground – of the numinous. And it is such a personal, vivifying, appreciation of the numinous which predisposes us, as individuals, toward the personal virtues of compassion, humility, and honour. For empathy not only uncovers the a-causal nature of Being, but also uncovers our φύσις as human beings: for we are but emanations of Being, and thus affective (that is, a-causal) connexions to all other living beings, sentient and otherwise, terran and otherwise. Thus, of the two wyrdful threads which run through my outré life, one is this apprehension of the acausal (the other being my apprehension, appreciation, and understanding, of the muliebral).

This compilation – which I have, perhaps somewhat pretentiously, entitled Time As Emanation of Being – comprises some essays of mine in which I have attempted to explain (not always in a satisfactory manner) my theory of acausality. Thus, it may be useful to those few who are not only interested in that theory of acausality but also interested in my philosophy of pathei-mathos.

David Myatt
2013

{/quote}


Article source: http://davidmyatt.wordpress.com/time-as-emanation-of-being/

Related article: emanations-of-urania.pdf


